Press Release

Texas HDC Presented with Lyndon B. Johnson Lifetime Service Award at Texas Democratic Party State Convention

(Dallas, TEXAS) – Today, the Texas Democratic Party presented the Texas House Democratic Caucus with the Lyndon B. Johnson Lifetime Service Award for Members’ efforts to protect the freedom to vote during the 2021 Quorum Break.

TDP Chairman Gilberto Hinojosa and Luci Baines Johnson presented the award to the Caucus on the second night of the state party’s convention.

Texas HDC Chair Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie) issued the following statement in response:

“On behalf of the 57 Members of the Texas House Democratic Caucus who broke quorum, we are honored to receive this award for our efforts last summer to protect Texans’ freedom to vote.

“Texas House Democrats’ bold actions last summer brought national attention to the fight for voting rights in Texas. We are grateful to the Texas Democratic Party for their recognition and support. I am proud of everything our Caucus has done, and we will continue to stand up for Texans in the face of Republicans’ repeated attacks on our democracy.”

The Texas House Democratic Caucus, which is composed of all Democrats in the Texas House, serves as the group’s membership services and logistical arm, and works to support House Democrats with communications, policy, and legal resources. Chaired by Rep. Chris Turner (D – Grand Prairie), the Caucus is focused on fighting for real solutions for all Texans.

For questions regarding the information in this release, please contact