Press Release

HDC Elects New Slate of Officers Ahead of 87th Session

Today, the House Democratic Caucus voted on leadership for the 2021-2022 biennium. The following Members were elected to serve the Caucus:

  • Chair, Rep. Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie)
  • First Vice Chair, Rep. Toni Rose (D-Dallas)
  • Second Vice Chair, Rep. Oscar Longoria (D-Mission)
  • Treasurer, Rep. Lina Ortega (D-El Paso)

Rep. Chris Turner, who will be serving his third term as HDC chair, released the following statement in response:

“I am honored to have been chosen by my colleagues to once again chair the Texas HDC. We have a difficult Session ahead of us, and I look forward to supporting all our Members as we fight for real solutions for the people of Texas.”


The Texas House Democratic Caucus, which is composed of all Democrats in the Texas House, serves as the group’s membership services and logistical arm, and works to support House Democrats with communications, policy, and legal resources. Chaired by Rep. Chris Turner (D – Grand Prairie), the Caucus is focused on fighting for real solutions for all Texans.

For questions regarding the information in this release, please contact

Scroll to Top