Caucus Blog

87th Legislative Session House Committees Named


On February 3rd, the Speaker of the House released the committee list for the 87th Legislative Session. House Democrats have made good use of the unusual interim, and are ready to hit the ground running now that committees have been named.

Congratulations to the HDC Members who were named the chair of a committee:
Rep. Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie) | Business & Industry
Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston) | County Affairs
Rep. Nicole Collier (D-Fort Worth) | Criminal Jurisprudence
Rep. Richard Peña Raymond (D-Laredo) | Defense & Veterans’ Affairs
Rep. Victoria Neave (D-Dallas) | Juvenile Justice & Family Issues
Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont) | Land & Resource Management
Rep. Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston) | Licensing & Administrative Procedures
Rep. Tracy King (D-Batesville) | Natural Resources
Rep. Rafael Anchía (D-Dallas) | Pensions, Investments & Financial Services
Rep. Harold Dutton (D-Houston) | Public Education
Rep. Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City) | Resolutions Calendars
Rep. Terry Canales (D-Edinburg) | Transportation
Rep. Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio) | Urban Affairs

Congratulations, also, to the HDC Members who were named the vice-chair of a committee:
Rep. Mary González (D-Clint) | Appropriations
Rep. Joe Moody (D-El Paso) | Calendars
Rep. Alma Allen (D-Houston) | Corrections
Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins (D-San Antonio) | Culture, Recreation & Tourism
Rep. Jessica González (D-Dallas) | Elections
Rep. Abel Herrero (D-Robstown) | Energy Resources
Rep. Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville) | Environmental Regulation/Local & Consent Calendars
Rep. Victoria Neave (D-Dallas) | General Investigating
Rep. Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio) | Higher Education
Rep. Rhetta Bowers (D-Garland) | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Rep. Sheryl Cole (D-Austin) | House Administration
Rep. Gina Hinojosa (D-Austin) | Human Services
Rep. Hubert Vo (D-Houston) | Insurance
Rep. Christina Morales (D-Houston) | International Relations & Economic Development
Rep. Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas) | Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence
Rep. Bobby Guerra (D-Mission) | Public Health
Rep. Toni Rose (D-Dallas) | Redistricting
Rep. Ana Hernandez (D-Houston) | State Affairs
Rep. Shawn Thierry (D-Houston) | Ways & Means

Scroll to Top